‘Cool’- a poem for my sister, Lorna.

Dear little girl
Not so little anymore
I hear clumsy heels click
on the wooden floor
I see push up bra’s
And mascara stains
And tittering friends
With candyfloss brains
And I can smell
the pungently sweet perfume
Of children in transit
All stuffed in one room
I want to shake you and keep you
But it’s your time to discover you
To wear neon clothes
And dance to pop tunes
To imagine your life was a musical
And you are always the star of the show
To convince yourself that life right now
Is all you will ever know
Just remember if you tire
Of disco kissing in wet walled rooms
That you can come sit on my bed
And I will always make you feel ‘cool’.

Leave a Reply

