Touching Responses: BATTLE Update

Sunday Indo InterviewLast Sunday this piece appeared in the Sunday Independent, an interview I did with Niamh Horan about my personal struggle with depression and the inspiration for my upcoming short film BATTLE: Full Interview Available Here

We received some very kind donations off the back of this coverage, which were a truly pleasant surprise, but we also received something I never could have hoped for – some really inspiring responses from young women across Ireland who related to the piece and BATTLE’s story. First, we received a lovely message from a young woman who uses creativity as her outlet when she is feeling particularly low. She wrote “Having had depression for a few years now I just want to thank you for sharing a part of your story. It is comforting to know I’m not the only person that has gone through stuff like this.” She wants to pursue a career in film but hasn’t had much experience yet, so we offered her a Trainee AD position on our film and she was delighted to accept the opportunity to put that experience on her CV. Needless to say I am very excited to meet this strong young woman on our set.

Today I received another inspiring email from a very strong young woman living with depression, thanking us for making BATTLE and saying how relevant it was to her life as she found strength in music in hour darkest hours too. She writes: “I just wanted you to know how amazing i think it is what you are doing because not enough people are aware of these issues and we need to break down the taboos on issues such as depression and also i wanted to thank you because it is with what you are doing that you gave me the courage to put up the song I wrote when i was in my darkest state”

It is incredibly touching to receive these messages from young people who feel that our film is relevant to them and their lives. It reminds me that we are doing something really worthwhile and drives me to make this the best film it can be :) Thank you to everyone who is supporting us in what we are trying to achieve with this short film, I do believe that when it is finished we will all be proud to have been a part of making something that can help even one young person realise their potential for happiness and creativity.

If you would like to support us in making this important film, please give anything you can to our campaign and share the link with your friends :) http://igg.me/at/battleshortfilm/x

unnamed

One thought on “Touching Responses: BATTLE Update

  1. “There are wounds that never show on the body, that are deeper and more hurtful than anything that bleeds” – Laurell K. Hamilton.
    I am so proud of my amazing, beautiful, kind hearted,thoughtful and talented daughter for finding the strength to heal her own wounds and write such a wonderful script in order to highlight the trauma of teenage depression and address teenage mental health.
    Well done my darling, I love you more than you will ever know.
    Mum xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

